Remembering Steve Voce

I recently heard that jazz critic and broadcaster Steve Voce passed away last month. His Wednesday night BBC Radio Merseyside programme was essential listening for me as a teenager in the 1970s. So many records I still own and play were inspired by the music he championed.

I once met Steve and his wife, Producer Jenny Collins, when they invited listeners to meet jazz trumpeter and Count Basie alumni Buck Clayton at the Post House pub in Liverpool. In fact Steve bought one of my first ever beers…. When asked what I was drinking I naively replied: “A pint”!

Steve Voce was an excellent broadcaster and writer, a regular contributor to Peter Clayton’s Jazz Notes on Radio 2.

As I write this I am playing a Buck Clayton Jam Session LP which I own because of the infectious enthusiasm for the music Steve Voce always had.

Leave a comment